Another 3.3 Million Airbags Recalled by Takata

Another 3.3 Million Airbags Recalled by Takata

Another 3.3 Million Airbags Recalled by Takata

Japanese air bag maker Takata is recalling an additional 3.3 million air bags that can explode and shoot shrapnel toward drivers and passengers.

If sources are to be believed, Takata has identified at least 19 automotive industry players that have purchased the airbags, comprising Toyota, Audi, Mercedes-Benz, Tesla, Nissan, Subaru, BMW, Daimler Vans, Mazda, Ford, Mitsubishi, Honda, Jaguar-Land Rover, Fiat Chrysler, and General Motors.

Documents detailing the particular models will be released later on this month by automakers after documents has been submitted with the NHTSA. NHTSA says this recall is for select 2013 vehicles that had ever been registered in Alabama, California, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Texas, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands (Saipan), and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Approximately 34 million vehicles are now under recall for approximately 46 million defective Takata air bags that can explode when the air bag deploys, causing serious injury or even death.

Takata plead guilty to fraud in February 2017 for covering up the engineering defects in its airbag inflators.

Since the recall began, Takata has filed for bankruptcy, been fined $1 billion, and three executives have been convicted for falsifying data. The inflators can explode in a crash and spray passengers with potentially lethal metal shards.

NHTSA has said the Takata recalls are unprecedented in size and complexity and have resulted in groundbreaking lessons that will help automakers reach their fix goals. The agency said it is monitoring the automakers' progress and working to expand best practices to boost completion rates. For the record, Takata commenced its recalls from May 2016 and will be continuing through December 2019. You can also use their Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) tool to see if your vehicle is part of the recall.

This recall also includes some 800,000 model year 2009 vehicles ever registered in the states of Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

Latest News