College Football Playoff announces several changes to selection committee

Florida athletics director Scott Stricklin left and College Football Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott are among six new members of the College Football Playoff selection committee

College Football Playoff announces several changes to selection committee

Joe Castiglione has also served on the NCAA baseball committee and been the chair of the men's basketball committee in the past, creating a level of experience.

Former USC star Ronnie Lott, who played on four Super Bowl winning teams, headlines a list of six people who have been appointed to the 13-member College Football Playoff selection committee, it was announced Wednesday.

Lott, 58, was an All-American defensive back at USC in 1980 before spending 14 seasons in the National Football League, primarily with the San Francisco 49ers.

When the College Football Playoff committee cycles through representatives later this year, Sooner fans can expect to see a familiar face making decisions this fall.

Stricklin became Florida's director of athletics in 2016 after six years in the same position at Mississippi State, his alma mater. He previously served as the AD at Oregon State (2015-16) and UCF (2012-15).

Boivin, an IL alumn, spent more than 20 years at The Arizona Republic before she took a job in the sports journalism program at Arizona State University's Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

Hatfield is a former coach who led Air Force, Arkansas, Clemson and Rice over his career. He was named to the Pac-12 All-Century Team while also earning honors as the Defensive Player of the Century in the conference.

OR athletic director Rob Mullens will be the committee's new chairperson and explanatory voice to ESPN.

Castilglone would be joined by six new CFP selection committee members. "The selection committee meets in-person beginning late in the football season and produces a ranking of the top 25 teams each week, leading up to its final selections".

Mullens is the athletic director at the University of Oregon.

Latest News