WhatsApp Messages Can Now Be Deleted An Hour After Posting

WhatsApp bringing major change to its app – Know how it will impact you

iOS Users: WhatsApp Will Now Give You 68 minutes To Delete A Message For Everyone

As per findings by WABetaInfo in a report, it now appears that WhatsApp has silently gone on to implement a "Block revoke request" feature in order to stop users from exploiting the "Delete for Everyone" feature through modded versions of the app.

However, last week, WhatsApp increased the this time limit to 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds.

It's not clear why the limit is now so specific, apart from being 2^12, and the WhatsApp support pages don't provide any additional info on the time limit. With this, iPhone and iPad (LTE) users will be able to delete unintended messages from group chats after more than an hour.

WaBetaInfo reports that Facebook-owned chat company is secretly working on a feature called "Block revoke request" that would be useful in keeping a check on the misuse of Delete for Everyone feature.

WhatsApp Messenger has updated its "Delete for Everyone" feature.

What's more, if you do delete a message, the other people in the conversation see a "message deleted" alert - so they know that you've said something you've regretted, and may ask you some awkward questions about it. Report states that WhatsApp has now improved its maths so it now finds a message in the database having the same ID as that of the evoke message request, it first goes through the data of the message saved in the database.

WhatsApp has quietly changed the way its message deletion feature works. But once, the set time has passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone. Now, it seems that the popular messaging app is planning of rolling out another feature "Block Revoke Request".

Latest News