Two RJD candidates file nomination papers for RS polls

Samajwadi Party's Akhilesh Yadav with Jaya Bachchan

Samajwadi Party's Akhilesh Yadav with Jaya Bachchan

Three ruling Congress candidates and one each from BJP and JDS filed their nominations yesterday for the 23 March biennial election to fill four Rajya Sabha seats from Karnataka that will fall vacant early next month following the retirement of members.

Nomination process for electing five Rajya Sabha members from Madhya Pradesh commenced on March 5 with the issuance of notification by the Election Commission of India (ECI).

The candidates include including former Maharashtra Chief Minister Narayan Rane, BJP General Secretary Saroj Pandey who will contest from Chhattisgarh, the party's Media Cell Convenor Anil Baluni from Uttarakhand, and Lt General DP Vats (retd) from Haryana.

Reports say that former BJP state president and national executive committee member V Muraleedharan, who might become a Rajya Sabha member from Maharashtra, might become a Union Minister as well.

Meanwhile, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) had fielded Manoj Jha and Ashfaque Karim as Rajya Sabha candidates.

Congress also seems to be leaving nothing to chance after it faced one of the toughest Rajya Sabha elections in August past year when senior leader Ahmed Patel won by a narrow margin.

Congress spokesman Shaktisinh Gohil, however, said Shukla was not going to file nomination and added that the party's candidates are Rathwa and Yagnik. Voting, if needed, will be held on 23 March. Since they are officially the Congress MLAs as per records, the party can bring a psychological pressure on them by issuing a whip to vote for the official candidate.

The party think tank thought it can request the MIM, which has seven MLAs, to support the Congress nominee, besides the remaining two TDP MLAs. While the JD (S) is short by 15 votes, the Congress too is short of some votes for the third MP. BM Farooq filed nomination as a JDS candidate.

All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul Muslimeen (AIMIM) chief Asaduddin Owaisi on Saturday confirmed that his party would support Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in the upcoming elections to the Rajya Sabha from Telangana. The party has now fielded two candidates and backed one independent candidate.

The biggies from all states made a beeline to file their nomination papers.

Latest News