Gmail may have self-destructing "confidential" emails soon

Google Gmail update 2018

GETTYGoogle look set to release a major Gmail update in the coming weeks

As per past reports, Gmail web users will get smart replies, a feature already available on the mobile app, a new sidebar, the ability to snooze emails and three new layouts, among other things.

Google is planning to launch a new design for its Gmail web interface soon. It'll be available in the coming weeks. Because of the decentralized, protocol-based nature of email, the ability of Google to unilaterally change the access requirements of a given email appears limited.

In a statement to The Verge, Google revealed: "We're working on some major updates to Gmail (they're still in draft phase)".

Gmail is heading for a re-design both through its appearance and software with one of the new updates being a "self-destructing" email, according to reports.

When the recipient receives the email they will get a plain text email saying "this message was sent with Gmail's confidential mode". This upgrade lets you share more photos, files and videos than ever before using the service.




Gmail is testing a new "confidential mode" that allows users to set an expiration date for their correspondence, and attempts to prohibit users from forwarding, downloading, or copying an email.

TechCrunch first confirmed the feature, including screenshots that reveal how it will work.

The other feature Google looks set to bring over of Inbox is the snooze option, which can temporarily hide an email from your Inbox until the time you are ready to deal with it.

And if you want to take privacy to the next level, there's an option to include an obligatory SMS passcode in order to open the email. Notably, it looks like recipients of the confidential email will have to log into their Google accounts once again to read the email. Not to mention if users OR senders are utilising POP3/IMAP/SMTP to access their inbox. "You can open it by clicking this link".

The search engine giant has another feature up its sleeve called "confidential mode" that will allow users to limit what recipients can do with the emails you send, preventing them from being forwarded, downloaded or printed, according to another report in The Verge.

Latest News