Owaisi's AIMIM not to contest Karnataka polls, will support JDS

Facebook  Owasi

Facebook Owasi

All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen chief Asaduddin Owaisi announced that his party would not contest in the upcoming Karnataka Assembly elections. Taking to Twitter, Owaisi said, "MIM party has chose to support JD (S) party in Karnataka Assembly elections".

The BSP and the JD (S) have entered into an alliance to contest the Karnataka Assembly polls together. He has thanked me and wherever it is possible for me to go and address public meetings, my party members and myself will go and address.

"We will not be putting up our candidates", Owaisi said, adding that he has already spoken to Kumaraswamy and assured him about his party's support to the JD (S).

However, secular voices from all the corners accusing the JD (S) and its supporters to be a B-team of the saffron party. "We want non-Congress and non-BJP govt in Karnataka for a qualitative development", he said.

"We will try and campaign for HD Kumaraswamy and ensure he becomes chief minister". But when the time came, he refused.

Kumaraswamy is the son of former prime minister and JD (S) supremo HD Deve Gowda, and now, the state president of the party. Yeddyurappa was sworn in on 12 November 2007 as the Chief Minister of Karnataka. "The central election committee of the party has decided the first 72 names for the ensuing Karnataka legislative assembly elections", said the BJP's state unit in a statement. "And it is in the interest of Karnataka, in the interest of the nation, that a non-Congress, non-BJP government comes into power both in Karnataka and subsequently whenever the Parliament elections are held".

Owaisi denied the charges that split in Muslim votes would benefit the BJP. The MIM will not field its candidates in the polls. The counting will take place on May 15.

Latest News