IPL 2018: Squads For Women's Challenge Match Announced

BCCI announces squads for one-off Women's T20 match


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the squads for the Indian Premier League (IPL) style women's exhibition T20 match on May 22 at the Wankhede Stadium. Australia's captain Meg Lanning, after regaining fitness from injury, will be a part of Harmanpreet Kaur-led IPL Supernovas.

Attacking batswoman and India's T20 vice captain Smriti Mandhana will lead IPL Trailblazers which includes pacer Jhulan Goswami, Suzie Bates and many popular worldwide women cricketers. The one-of-its-kind match will feature 26 players including 10 worldwide stars from Australia, England and New Zealand. The BCCI said in its statement that decision has been taken considering the success of the Indian team, which reached the final of the World Cup-2017. However, considering the lack of depth among Indian women's cricketers, the idea was shelved.

Alyssa Healy, Australia's wicketkeeper-batter, Beth Mooney, Australia's opener, Suzie Bates, the veteran New Zealand all-rounder, are some of the worldwide stars in the Trailblazers' set-up. "Danni Wyatt and Daniel Hazell will add the English flavour".

This development comes in the backdrop of BCCI and CoA mulling a potential T20 league for Women cricketers in India. While IPL Trailblazers has players like Alyssa Healy, Jhulan Goswami, Deepti Sharma Ekta Bisht and Poonam Yadav, the IPL Supernovas boasts of players like Mithali Raj, Meg Lanning, Ellyse Perry and Veda Krishnamurthy.

The match will kick start at 2.00 pm and will be followed by the IPL 2018 Qualifier 1.

Latest News