Karolina Pliskova Hits Umpire's Chair With Racket After Loss

WTA world number five Karolina Pliskova | AP

WTA world number five Karolina Pliskova | AP

Former world No. 1 Karolina Pliskova blew up at the Italian Open, smashing her racket several times on the umpire chair in frustration after a blown call ultimately decided her fate in the second round.

Karolina Pliskova is now the world number six in the women's singles rankings, and topped the pile as recently as July 2017.

The scene sparked when both the linesperson and umpire couldn't spot Pliskova's ball mark in the clay with the deciding set tied at 5-5.

No fine was announced and USA Today reported that the Women's Tennis Association had not responded to queries regarding the incident, but event organizers have been clamping down on tennis players for unsportsmanlike conduct.




However, the line-judge deemed the ball to be out, and this decision was not over-ruled by umpire Marta Mrozinska.

After the match, Pliskova didn't shake hands with the chair umpire and struck the chair several times with her racket.

Pliskova was stunned 3-6, 6-3, 7-5 by Maria Sakkari of Greece in the round of 32 at the Rome Masters.

And her twin sister Kristyna, world No 71, took to Twitter to defend the Czech player in the immediate aftermath of the defeat.

Latest News