West Norfolk beaches given Seaside Awards

Joss Bay in Broadstairs

Joss Bay in Broadstairs

East Lindsey has retained its Blue Flag status for central beaches in Skegness, Mablethorpe and Sutton on Sea.

Seaton Carew is one of eight beaches in the region have also received the Seaside Award, with Sandhaven Beach in South Shields, Roker and Seaburn beaches in Sunderland, and Tynemouth Longsands, King Edwards Bay, Whitley Bay, and Cullercoats, all North Tyneside, also achieving the accolade.

It comes as Keep Britain Tidy announced 65 beaches across Britain have been granted the worldwide Blue Flag status and a further 125 were given the UK Seaside Award, Keep Britain Tidy's own distinction for beaches meeting the highest standard for cleanliness and facilities.

East of England: Cromer, Sea Palling, Sheringham, Mundesley, East Runton, West Runton, East Beach Shoeburyness, Shoebury Common, Thorpe Bay, Dovercourt Bay, Brightlingsea, Southwold Pier.

A privately owned beach at Ingoldmells has also been awarded Blue Flag status.

A further 19 beaches in Wales have gained the Green Coast Award - recognising the "hidden gems" along our coastline - and a total of 83 beaches have achieved the Seaside Award for their good water quality and facilities.

"It is one of the town's gems and a lot of hard work is done throughout the year by both council staff and volunteers to maintain that".

Visitors to award-winning beaches can be sure of a clean, safe beach with great facilities and water quality. "Well done to all those involved". Our research shows that almost two thirds of parents would prefer to visit beaches with Blue Flag or Seaside Award status, so growing the number of beaches with an award is vital to encourage more families to visit our attractive coastline.

In total, 65 beaches around the country can now proudly fly a Blue Flag - an worldwide award which means visitors can be sure they are clean and safe. "It's fantastic to see that Ingoldmells has also achieved Blue Flag status, meaning that nearly all the beaches in our District have been given the Award".

Latest News