Instagram will no longer notify people when you screenshot their stories

Instagram will no longer notify people when you screenshot their stories

Instagram will no longer notify people when you screenshot their stories

Well, if you are the one who disliked this feature, we have some good news for you. Currently, anyone can see your stories, if it is set to public, and take the screenshot without ever worrying about the users getting notified.

Earlier this year, it was revealed that Instagram was testing out a new feature in which they would notify users whenever someone else took a screenshot of their Story. After experimenting with this feature for several months, Instagram has made a decision to cancel it altogether.

Still, online responses to the idea were generally negative.

On the other end, the person who posted the Story would see a Sun-like symbol (refer image above) right next to the person's name who took a screenshot of the Story or screen-recorded it.




Alerting users when a screenshot of their content has been taken is a feature introduced by Snapchat, and many thought Instagram was on the verge of copying its major rival once again.

It is worth pointing out the previous implementation also warned screenshotters that the poster of the Story will be informed of their actions. You'll know a story is shoppable when you see a sticker with a shopping bag icon.

Instagram did not elaborate on its rationale behind the change, reported The Next Web. According to BuzzFeed who heard from Instagram, the feature is being pulled back and won't be rolling out to anyone.

Remember when stories were making the rounds that Instagram would alert people when you screenshot their stories? Yes, if you're a Snapchat pro, you will know about this feature.

Latest News