Tua Tagovailoa and Kyler Murray split honors at College Football Awards

OU’s Kyler Murray named The Associated Press College Football Player of the Year

Tua Tagovailoa and Kyler Murray split honors at College Football Awards

He beat out Oklahoma's Kyler Murray and West Virginia's Will Grier for the award.

Named the AP Player of the Year earlier Thursday, Murray leads the nation in total yards (school-record 4,945), points responsible for (306), passing efficiency rating (205.7; FBS record is 198.9), yards per pass attempt (11.9; FBS record is 11.1) and yards per completion (16.8, tied).

Murray added the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's top quarterback Thursday night at ESPN's College Football Award Show at the Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

Or will the Heisman go to Murray?

The Heisman Trophy victor will be announced Saturday night, December 8 in New York City.

Murray's 51 combined touchdowns are the most of anyone in college football.

The victor of the award will be announced Saturday in New York City.

Murray beat out Tagovailoa and Washington State's Gardner Minshew II for the Davey O'Brien.

The Walter Camp victor has won the Heisman the last five seasons. This is the sixth time in the past 15 seasons that different quarterbacks took home the Maxwell and Davey O'Brien awards, and in four of the previous five times the Heisman went to the O'Brien victor.

9 overall pick by the Oakland A's in last summer's Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft, is the second Sooner in two years to win the O'Brien Award, joining Baker Mayfield. Jackson won the Heisman that season. He went on to become one of three 4,000-yard passers in the nation and threw for 40 touchdowns. But his left ankle injury and poor performance in the SEC championship game and Murray's great Big 12 championship game performance has made the Oklahoma QB the sportsbook favorite heading into Saturday night.

Latest News